How to do an oil change for the GPX250?

All GPx and GPz Models

How to do an oil change for the GPX250?

Postby bNiNja » Tue May 01, 2007 11:14 pm

Hi all,

I recently purchased a 1988 Kawasaki GPX250 (1995 compliance) and it is time to check off some boxes in the service schedule. I am about to do an oil change and replace the oil filter.

I am a complete noob when it comes to bikes (or auto mobiles for that matter) but I have read through the service manual rigorously (thanks Lainie for sending me the manual) as well as this site http://faq.ninja250.org/wiki/Service_Schedule. I'm not too bad with tools and can follow instructions so I am confident I can perform the service myself.

However, this is quite embarrassing, but I can't find the drain plug i.e. http://faq.ninja250.org/wiki/Image:2Winterize.jpg

I am guessing it is on the right side of the bike next to the rear break. The only time I had a chance to look was when I got home from work which means it is already dark (around 6pm) and I haven't taken off the fairings.

Can someone please direct me where the drain plug and oil filter can be found? Better yet, is anyone in Sydney willing to offer me a helping hand? I live in Newtown area (inner-west Sydney) and don't mind riding to someone's house/garage if they are willing give me a hand. I have the oil and filter ready and I am free tomorrow night (2/5/07) as well as Thursday night.

Any help would be appreciated.
bNiNja

Bike: ZRX
State: New South Wales

Postby Gosling1 » Tue May 01, 2007 11:17 pm

The drain plug is under the motor, you will have to remove the fairings to drain the oil and change the filter. Don't try this at night, do it on the weekend when there is plenty of light.

You should try and do an oil change *immediately* after riding the bike, when the engine is hot. Also, take the oil filler cap off, so the oil drains quickly.

Knock yourself out mate, its good fun !

8)