New Convert

All Old Skool kawasaki discussion - pre 90's

New Convert

Postby photomike666 » Sun Jun 22, 2008 8:48 pm

After spending the day at the Little River TT, I'm converted to the idea of having an old dunger. This may not be something that happens quickly, but it will happen. I have been given a few criteria from the minister of war & finance; 1) I need to sell the Kombi, which I have decided I do not have the space to restore. 2) I need to restore the 1979 AG100 that is sitting in the shed waiting for me to change the gearbox gaskets.

So, selling the Kombi shouldn't be too hard, and the AG will be good practice for a real restoration. And so to the real question, what to get? My target will be to get something in the $1500-2000 mark and work from there. I'm thinking Z650, but a Z1000 would be nice. I quite like some of the Brit bikes, Nortons and Triumph appeal - but I have no knowledge of what is good, what is hard to find parts for etc. Advice greatly recieved.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
07 ZX10R since new, tracky TBA, KX450F, 87 CR250 restoration, GT MTB - I've got serious thrill issues, dude
photomike666
Apprentice Post Whore :-)

Bike: ZX10R
State: Victoria

Re: New Convert

Postby Six Addict » Sun Jun 22, 2008 8:57 pm

calling gos....
DUCATI HYPERMOTARD 2014
Six Addict
Pinchy
Pinchy

Bike: Ducati
State: New South Wales

Postby Gosling1 » Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:03 pm

Mike - in that budget range, getting a reasonable z650 should not be too hard. They are out there, and pop up on e-bay, M/C Trader, Auto Trader etc. I think there is even a z or GPz750 for sale here at the moment ?? One of those would be a great restorer....